Mark's Gospel


Mark's Gospel - Table of Contents


Authorship and Dating of Mark's Gospel
Characteristics of Mark's Gospel
Jewish Groups
Political Background
The Sabbath
The Synagogue
The Temple

Titles of Jesus

The Messiah
The Son of Man
The Son of God
The Son of David

Jesus begins his Ministry

The Message of John the Baptist (Mark 1:2-8)
The Baptism of Jesus (Mark 1:9-11)


The Call of the Disciples (Mark 1:14-20)
The Call of Levi (Mark 2:13-14)
The Choosing of the Twelve (Mark 3:13-19)
The Mission of the Twelve (Mark 6:7-15)

Jesus' Teaching

Jesus and the Law
Picking Corn on the Sabbath (Mark 2:23-28)

Parables of Jesus

Introduction to the Parables
The Wicked Husbandmen (Mark 12:1-12)

Miracles of Jesus

Introduction to the Miracles
The Feeding of the Five Thousand (Mark 6:30-44)
The Syro Phoenician Woman's Daughter(Mark 7:24-36)
Blind Bartimaeus(Mark 10:46-52)

The Turning Point of Mark

Peter's Declaration of Faith (Mark 8:27-30)
The First Prediction of the Passion (Mark 8:31-38)
The Transfiguration (Mark 9:2-8)

Jesus' Last Week

The Entry into Jerusalem (Mark 11:1-11)
The Cleansing of the Temple (Mark 11:15-19)
The Question of Authority (Mark 11:27-33)
The Question of Life after Death (Mark 12:18-27)
The Great Commandment (Mark 12:28-34)
The Apocalyptic Discourse (Mark 13)
The Anointing at Bethany (Mark 14:1-9)
The Betrayal (Mark 14:10-11)
The Last Supper (Mark 14:12-26)
The Garden of Gethsemane (Mark 14:32-42)
The Trial before the Sanhedrin (Mark 14:53-65)
The Denial of Peter (Mark 14:66-72)
Jesus before Pilate (Mark 15:1-20)
The Crucifixion (Mark 15:20-41)
The Burial of Jesus (Mark 15:42-47)
The Empty Tomb (Mark 16:1-8)